IELTS (International English Language Testing System)

IELTS is an English Language Proficiency test that is required to be taken by non-native students for study in countries where the medium of instruction is English. It is mandatory for study in Australia.

IELTS is jointly managed by University of Cambridge ESOL Examinations, British Council, and IDP Education Australia.

The test is conducted by the British Council. The British Council also runs short courses to prepare you for IELTS.

  • REGISTRATION : Registration can be done in person or by Post. Online registration is also available at www.britishcouncil.org.
  • WEBSITE :www.ielts.org and www.britishcouncil.org .
  • SCORES : Total score is out of 9 Bands.Scoring is between 0-9. The minimum score accepted for a course ranges from 5.0 to 7.5
  • VALIDITY :The score is generally valid for 2 years.
  • REPORTING :The score is sent to 2 universities. For additional score reporting, students have to pay Rs. 1,000/- per university.

Format of IELTS

The test has different sections :

The Listening Section 35 Min
Academic reading/general training reading section 60 Min
Academic writing/general training writing section 60 Min
Speaking Section 11 – 14 Min